Technology=Frustrating Sometimes

Recently in one of my Communication courses we had a discussion about the positives and negatives of technology, it was quite scintillating so I thought I would use it as a blog topic for the week.

Technology is of course a revolutionary advancement that has changed the lives of everyone on earth. However, this change is not always a positive one. While technology both improves our ability to communicate with others conveniently and greatly increases the number of people that we are exposed to at any given moment in time, (view this Pew Social Media fact sheet for information on how many people use social media) it also creates isolation. I can’t recall the number of times I’ve walked into a classroom to find everyone on their phone, checking email, sending a text, surfing the internet, updating their various social media websites, the possibilities are endless. Yet no one bothers to communicate with the people that are sharing the same physical space as they are. This Psychology Today article explains the isolation concept well.
It’s also annoying when people seek out the “new electronic toys” the second that they’re upgraded. I hate the idea of our society falling prey to this idea of “planned obsolescence” that is so prevalent in today’s society. Suddenly the iPhone 6 comes out and everyone has to rush to buy it, even though their 5 works perfectly fine. iPhone makes their money by warping the minds of easily manipulated technology seekers into thinking that just because a new shiny version of something is designed, it makes the previous version obsolete.
This is not to say that technology doesn’t have a major impact on my life. I don’t go anywhere without my smartphone and I really couldn’t imagine life without the internet and all the other things my phone offers at the tips of my fingers. I also use my phone to listen to music which makes it the best thing ever.

Leave a Reply

